Bentley tries to figure out how to get the treat from under the cup

Bentley tries to figure out how to get the treat from under the cup

Bentley was looking a bit bored, so I decided to try to teach him a new game.  The idea is to put a treat under a cup, mix it with other cups and have him find the treat.  I started with 5 cups.  He really didn’t get the idea.  I think part of the problem was I was using hard plastic cups, so he had a hard time smelling which cup had the treat under it.  Plus he just didn’t really know what to do.

So I reset my expectations and decided to start much much slower.  I showed him a treat, put it under a cup, and his job was merely to get the treat.  That, he picked up on right away!   Still, I don’t think he quite gets that there is a treat under the cup, because half the time he looks at my hand for the treat first before trying to knock the cup over.

I want to get some disposable plastic cups and try this again.  I plan to poke some small holes in the cup so he can really smell that there’s a treat under there.

